Money is ridiculous. Think about it: a piece of paper or a specially shaped piece of metal is worth food our shelter or a new pair of shoes. But we can't eat it or live in it our wear it. And now money is mostly electronic. It's a concept that we never really even see or touch anymore. Our dependance on money has taken away or ability to do things. We have become do cerebral and virtual that as a culture we don't know how to do much of anything but think. Even our relationships are becoming "concepts." How many of us actually know how to grow, build, sew, cook?
These thoughts pass through my overaught brain as I pay rent or my phone bill every month. The sad thing is, as much as I would like to think I have enough skills to survive the zombie apocolypse (or any other kind :), I, like most of us, am completely dependant on money. And also like many if us, I don't make very much, and save even less.
As you know, one of my resolutions this year is to save $2011by the end of the year. Yeah... that's not going so well. I suck, really suck with writing to do with money. I hate that it's necessary, but love it when I have it. I'm in awe if anyone who can save. How do you do it? What are the secrets? I mean, I've got the basics down of saving bit by bit, and little changes one can make tho their lifestyle, but how can one change their attitude about money?
For me, money is to be spent: on food, shelter, bills, booze, shoes, trips, gifts.... I know that if I save I can afford more of these things, but I find that in the rare instance that I have money after paying the necessities, I want to enjoy the rest! And if I'm going to spend my money on afore mentioned items, why should I wait? Yes there are emergencies snd unforseen costs, but why save? How do I tell myself to wait and to think of those inforseen maybes? I suppose I could answer my own question, but I'd like some outside assistance. For those of you who have managed and are still managing to save: how do you do it!?
-Eb
No comments:
Post a Comment